Hudson finally gets a chance to represent Jamaica

Hudson finally gets a chance to represent Jamaica

A year after winning his first national title, Andrew Hudson will get his chance to represent the Jamaican colours at the World Championships, a moment he said was a long time coming.

Hudson retained his 200 metres title last night in the final of the National Senior and Junior Championships at the National Stadium, clocking 20.11 seconds for victory, competing for the first time since April 8. Rasheed Dwyer was second in 20.26, and Tyquendo Tracey third in 20.48.

Hudson won his first national title last year with his transfer of allegiance from the United States of America pending, however, it was not completed in time for him to represent Jamaica at the World Championships in Oregon.

On the plane to Budapest, Hungary, Hudson said that winning the title was not as crucial as securing his place in the top three.

« I just want to get on that plane. I want to make my first world team. I don’t care how I did it. I’m happy that I came in first. I’m happy that I came here and completed the job. I’m just excited to go, » Hudson said.

He shared the moment with his family around him, excited they got to see him make his first World Championships team in the Jamaican colours.

World Championship 200 metres champion Shericka Jackson completed the national sprint double, winning in 21.71 seconds. Reigning World Championships 100 metres champion Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce finished in second place with 22.26. Lanae-Tava Thomas was third in 22.55.

« I haven’t run as many 200 metres since the start of the season. It is just for me to focus on the 100 metres, which was a job well done on Friday. I just wanted to come here and run a good time. I ran a season’s best. I can’t complain, » Jackson said.

Commonwealth Games champion Broadbell won his first national 110 metres hurdles title, clocking a world-leading time of 12.94 seconds, with Olympic Games champion Hansle Parchment second in 13.12 and Orlando Bennett third in 13.19.

Olympic bronze medallist Megan Tapper became a three-time national 100 metres hurdles champion, winning the title in 12.64 seconds. Ackera Nugent was second in 12.67, while former World Championships winner Danielle Williams was third in 12.82.

In the 400 metres, Sean Bailey won the men’s title in 44.48 seconds, with Antonio Watson finishing second in 44.54 and Jevaughn Powell third in 45.19.

Nickisha Pryce won her first women’s national title in the 400 metres, clocking 50.21. Janieve Russell was second in 50.76, and Candice McLeod third in 51.01.

Natoya Goule Toppin won her ninth national 800 metres title with 1:58.89 minutes, with national 1,500 metres champion Adelle Tracey second in 2:01.11.

In the field, Jaydon Hibbert won back-to-back national triple jump titles with a leap of 17.68 metres on his fourth attempt. Rajindra Campbell won the men’s shot put with 21.04 metres, while the women’s javelin was won by Gnea Pitt with a throw of 45.03 metres.

Read More

Laisser un commentaire

Your email address will not be published.